Movies, Songs and 2009

2009 has been a Goodyear for Movies, as far as I am concerned.

NewYear started off with Oye Lucky Lucky Oye…and then week on week I was watching some movie on the other.

When I started thinking about the movies that I saw last year I could only come up with 26, I am sure there were some more that I was not able to catch hold of in the lane of memory.

Here are few that I managed to gather (alphabetically):

3 Idiots – The last one of the last year and the first and the second one of this year. Have already watched it thrice. First time I watched it with my college friend Jush. And then with family. I loved all the characters of the movie and showered some extra ‘love’ to Ali Fazal who played a very small role of Joy Lobo in the movie. I found him very cute. Though the punches in the movie were old, but I loved them anyway. Songs that I pick from this one are Give me some sunshine, Jaane nahi denge tujhe and Behti hawa sa tha wo.

Aloo Chaat – First time I watched the last show of a movie. One time watch. Enjoyed watching even this. Song – Aloo chaat, it has awesome beats which I noticed when a guy from SDIPA gave a short instant performance on this. He was A W E S O M E as far as his dance moves are concerned😉

All The Best – One of those movies which were released around Diwali time. And of all the three this was worth watching. Had some awesome punches. I don’t really remember this one for songs.

Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani – Even after making a week long plan for this one I missed out on the first half an hour of the movie. Though I later realized that it wasn’t worth watching either. But the remaining movie was awesome. And I love Ranbir Kapoor, in spite of the fact that he looks like his mom. I love the way he portrays his characters on screen. This one had many songs that I liked … almost each and every song actually giving special preference to Tu jaane na (I loved the picturization and the color combinations) and Tera hone laga hoon

Billu Barber – We had absolutely no option to watch a movie on Valentine’s Day so we watched this one (me and Sim after our dance classes). A simple movie. Also, we had special interest in watching the flick as we were to perform on Mar Jani in that batch😛 . Though I dint like this song, I like both the versions of Khudaya Khair.

Blue – Was a disaster that we went to watch from office. The only thing good about the movie was the under water sequences and their picturization. I liked the song Chiggy Wiggy and I think Akshay Kumar spoiled the feel of such a sexy number. 🙄

 Chandni Chowk To China – Yet another disaster which we watched laughing throughout. Though the movie was a super flop, I enjoyed watching this as well😛 . I liked the song Tere Naina and Chak de fatte version. 🙄

De Dana Dan – Yet another D I S A S T E R of the year. It was stretched unnecessarily. Over acting by Akshay made it even worse to tolerate. There were some moments of smiles, but no laughter. Two songs that I remember – paisa paisa karti hai and the Rahat Fateh Ali khan song. First one I somehow remember belongs to this movie the latter was good to listen to.🙄

Delhi 6 – I liked this movie which had a message. The Movie which I saw 3 times in first 3 days of its release. Though the kala Bandar thingie was an over-do, but it was adapted in the movie nicely. A R Rehman rocked again. Ye delhi hai mere yaar was my anthem for a long time, Rehna Tu was the Goa Anthem… I wanted my life to get stuck at that place😉 . Dil gira dafatan .. a soothing number that I love for different reasons. Arziyaan used to make me cry (dunno why??) so I stopped listening to it😛 . Noor is The Ultimate Poem that I try to follow. Masakali.. Mohit Chauhan’s work..how can I not like it??😉

Dev D – I am not sure if actually liked this one or hated it. Certain things in the movie that I loved, certain that I hated and few that I don’t want to comment on. Over all I think it was ok. An experiment with different sort of cinema, which happens very rarely. I liked how the novel was adapted to this Gen Y situations. But I am sure the author of Devdas would die all over again if he would see these adaptations (movies from recent past included). I loved the music of this movie. Be it pardesi, nayan tarse, paayaliya or rock version of emosional atyachar.

Kaminey – I loved this movie. I loved Shahid in this movie. I loved everything about this movie. I loved Dhan te nan, the desire to dance on this number is still unfulfilled. It again had a Mohit Chauhan number, pehli baar mohabbat ki hai which I was about to sing for someone but stopped myself from the disaster at the last moment😛 .

Kurbaan – A better version of New York, with a tadka of Saif-Kareena chemistry (which I don’t know helped to what extent). I liked the climax of the movie so much that I decided not to watch it again. I loved the title track of the movie – Kurbaan hua

London Dreams – Again an experimental film I would say. Where almost every hit movie is a love story or is based on a popular book or is based on terrorism, its difficult to take a decision to make one for Music Bands. I loved Ajay Devgan in the movie, specially in the scene where he hits himself with belt. He has maintained his 6 packs quite well. I liked the way he was styled in the movie. His clothes and the way he carried himself. Ranvijay of course was a treat too. Khaababadosh is the song from this one.

Love Aaj Kal – I loved this one too. A story of a confused lover which makes his very sure girlfriend confuse too. Who in turn takes a decision to marry someone else and just after marriage realizes the mistake and then rona-dhona, sacrifices, hunting, questioning and all that drama. I like such typical movies😛 . I loved the songs of this one, in spite of the fact that they might be copied from somewhere (see I trust Pritam so much!!) Dooriyaan being my all time favorite, aahun aahun is the one that I listen to on my evening walks.

Luck By Chance – Dijastar is the word. I don’t know why I watched this movie… may be cos I like to see Farhan Akhtar??🙄

Main aur Mrs. Khanna – A Doomed one again. Why I watched it?? Mom dad wanted to watch a movie, all others were already seen, we were late for All The Best… so thought of spending bucks on this disaster. Mere paise….dooob gye!!!!😦

New York – 4 things worth watching were – Katrina, John, Neil and New York. They could have done a great work with the topic that they chose. But they decided to unleash the potential of good looking actors by putting in more songs and love triangle. I liked the songs though – mere sang toh chal zara & tune jo na kaha (of course!!)

Paa – A cute movie. I loved Vidya Balan’s look in the movie and the way she carried her character. In fact, everybody in the movie did a great job. Be it Amitabh, Abhishek, Paresh Rawal or Bum😛 . Music was ok… had a south Indian touch.

Raaz – The Mystery Continues – It came at the beginning of the year. I liked the idea behind the story. We often do something and don’t realize if it would even harm anyone. This one clearly portrayed the relationship between our actions/thoughts and the effect on someone else. Two songs that I liked – Mahi and Soniyo (the one sung by Rahat) is my ultimate favorite.

Rocket Singh (Salesman of the Year) – Ranbir looked cute in this new avtar. Nice movie with some realistic situations (that we often face in offices) but the solution that they came up with works only in movies. I haven’t really come across with someone who thinks otherwise. I don’t remember this movie for the songs.

Slumdog Millionaire – It came and it swept the audience off their feet. Jai Ho was one song which I listened to almost 50 times continuously when I got that on my cell.

Straight – Cute funny movie. Vinay Pathak at his best. Portrays the confusion of a guy who never actually connects with a girl and then finally starts believing that he is a gay. I liked the song Saanso ka rukna hai mar jana

Tum Mile – Based on Mumbai rains. It was ok. I like the song Tum mile though…all versions

Wake Up Sid – Ranbir Kapoor again. I liked the chemistry between Konkona and Ranbir. It was a pleasant watch. And the songs were nice specially Ek tara

Wanted – I watched it pretty late and I loved it. Typical bollywood masala movie where the lead actor is a Hero in disguise. Till the end he seems to be a tapori and sudden ‘breaking news’ proves him to be an under cover cop. He is a One Man Army and kills the whole squad of villains single handedly. I like the song Yo momma says you loue me😛

What’s Your Rashee?? – Is spite of all odds I liked this one. It was lengthy but what kept me hooked up was the curiosity how a particular rashee has been portrayed. I do believe that a person from a particular zodiac behaves differently from the person of the other. Though there are traits which are common too… but in some some traits are very strong and in others they are week. Later I found out that it dint come out the way I was expecting it to be, but whatever it was… it was ok. I liked 2 songs Jao na and Bikhri bikhri

X-Men Origins: Wolverine – Watched this one with the Team as my Birthday treat to them. Half of the Team was not in favor of watching this action flick but majority wins. At the end of it we all liked it.

Paranormal Activity – This one was much hyped and was recommended by my center-of-affection 2010 way back. First half of the movie was normal, as if we were watching A Haunting (Discovery Channel) and I was wondering if this is what I spent my money for. But last 30minutes were worth all the money and costly popcorns. Shivani hardly watched it. And I finally screamed in the very last scene. I wasn’t embarrassed as everyone else in the hall did the same.

This was a different year for the movies…almost every movie got a mixed response from the audience. If some thought it was a great effort some declared it to be crap.

Anyway, when it comes to movies my friends say that I am the worst critic as I like every movie that I watch. Later may be I categorize them differently, but instant reaction to every movie is not that bad (there is an exception too).

My Top 10 favorite songs of the year are:

  • Soniyo (From the Heart) – Raaz 2
  • Ye dooriyaan – Love Aaj Kal
  • Tu jaane na – Ajab Prem ki Gajab Kahani
  • Jaane nahi denge tujhe – 3 Idiots
  • Dhan te nan – Kaminey/ Guloan me rang bhare – Sikandar
  • Pardesi – Dev D
  • Give me some sunshine – 3 Idiots
  • Mere sang toh chal zara – New York
  • Rehna Tu – Delhi 6
  • Ye Delhi hai mere yaar – Delhi 6

Edit: How can I Miss To mention Hangover????? The First movie which I watched alone, when I celebrated with myself. This one was HILLARIOUS….awesome one.

6 thoughts on “Movies, Songs and 2009

    • I am a movie buff… I watch movies anytime of the day and N number of times… there are some in this list which I watched twice or thrice on a cinema hall itself.

      Forgot to add Paranormal Activity and X-Men Origins: Wolverine in the list…will do that right away🙂

  1. Not fair garry I watched Paranormal Activity…so what if I missed last 5 minutes of the movie. I was taking care of you, so that u dont get scared🙂

    Don’t lie….Chatur ladki

  2. 🙂

    Wow… Don’t tell me you actually watched all those movies in the cinema halls ! I haven’t been to a cinema hall even as many times in the last twenty years…😛

    The closest I got to getting into one was during college about four years back when a movie was planned for a friend’s birthday without me having a clue about the plan. They eventually had to sell my ticket in black…😀😛

    As for 2009, I did watch 3 or 4 new ones… or maybe 5. But all at home. And of course watched my favorite oldies many times over as usual on telly…🙂

    • LOL…this might be the first time in my life that I watched so many movies in a year. And I love to watch movies in Cinema Halls…even at home I prefer to keep the lights off and volume loud to give that ‘in the hall’ effect😛

Leave a Reply

