Quite A Rest…

…after a very hectic schedule. As I mentioned in my last post that there are a lot of things happening in my life right now… one among them is my Fine Arts course which is coming to an end. As a result there were quite a few submissions and at least 2 paintings for the final exhibition which got over this Sunday.

Just like school…I hardly did anything during the year. I often missed my Sunday classes…though in winters it was purely due to laziness, some Sundays were actually busy cos of family commitments. I hardly practiced for the things which were taught in the class. Parents and friends often pointed this out…they never miss an opportunity😉

About a month and a half back we were asked to think about the Theme of our paintings which were to be put in the exhibition. Our Sir told us to pick the topic up which is close to our heart….either one is very fond of it or is struggling with it…to feel connected to the painting. I knew what I want to go ahead with.

There is something that I am trying to deal with for quite sometime now. Few of my posts indicated that… I did talk to some of you about the same…but it was not public. During this time of discussion about themes… I had to make it public and I found myself accepting this fact that “Yes, I am losing my faith in God”

So far there was no one thinking about anything near my Theme. I started off with a thought which quite a lot of people appreciated…but couldn’t go further. The idea that I generated needed a lot of skills in terms of shading and mixing of colors to give that realistic look to the painting and I lacked that cos of insufficient practice. I scrapped that idea and was willing to go ahead with something else. Thankfully I was suggested a concept by our Sir which was very well related to my theme and involved flat brush strokes… no shading and mixing required.

I was way beyond the deadline…and then I wanted to add one more painting to it….which seemed impossible. Exhibition was to start on 24th of May and all the paintings were supposed to be there by 22nd…there were a few exceptions though; they brought their work directly to the Gallery on 23rd. So, Till Sunday the 16th I had no painting structured… I scrapped my previous idea the very day and got the new one. I started working on it in the night and was up till 4am to complete it. We were asked to mail the pics of the painting as the catalog was under construction and the pic was to be a part of it. I desperately wanted my painting to be a part of the catalog, but has life ever turned the way I wanted?? As the pic wasn’t clear it was not added to the catalog😥 . On Thursday, I thought of working on another one. Again I woke up till 3am to complete it as by Friday evening I was suppose to submit both of them.

Last bit of idea was again given by our Sir…and they were all set.

I was happy for the fact that 2 of my paintings were included in the exhibition. So what if they were one-fourth of the regular size of the paintings by others? So what if they did not match the level of fineness portrayed by others? I was happy…

On the day of inauguration.. The Chief Guest commented on everybody’s painting except mine and I dint mind it. But this below poverty line confidence came up to the middle class level when I got to know that one of my paintings was sold of…yes it did!!! Yesterday I confirmed it. And as they say “All’s well that ends well”… this one ended in such a stylish way for me that I can’t even express in words. I still can’t believe that it happened for real…

And btw… someone commented on me being Lucky…LOL!!! Yeah, now I do feel that my ‘luck’ has played an important role in it… otherwise I wouldn’t be the only one in my batch who experienced this kind of happiness…

But then…mai kab se ‘lucky’ ho gyi???

Attaching some pics for you guys…

1) This picture has an image of God, some petals pouring from a pair of hands and butterflies.

Depicts that sometimes we do reach at a stage where we direct our thoughts to God but due to some reasons, somewhere in between they divert. Petals represent our thoughts and butterflies represents those diverted thoughts. Most people think that an atheist is not a good person, but these butterflies try to depict that thought the thoughts are going away from the path of God but they are still beautiful. Its not necessary that all those thoughts on a different path than that of God’s are evil.

 The first incomplete one…

2) As I could not complete the above painting, we tried to collate the essence of that in this one. So here would see the same things… like an eye – just like the third eye of God, Trishul, a crescent, Shivling..a female face, a hand, some petals and butterflies. Everything put together in a different concept altogether.

I woke up till 4 am for this one…

3) In continuation to the above thought this painting depicts that God and Devil is not something to looking or search for in the outer world… whenever we do anything good its God and whenever we do something bad/wrong its Devil…

And  this is that one…

So…any idea what these 3 frames depict??

6 thoughts on “Quite A Rest…

  1. 🙂

    Ooohhhh…. No wonder it got sold out. That was really good.

    I’m really bad at analyzing art and its hidden messages. But I’ll just try to point out whatever I can visualize in the above three works.

    1. Something to do with offerings/prayers to the lord becoming happiness/blessings.

    2. Here I can see an eye, a butterfly, a hand, a crescent, a sort of shiv-ling, a trishul, another butterfly, and a lady’s face. Some sort of a kaleidoscope. (Also your signature on the green background)

    3. A reflection or something of that sort of an angel with a devil. The contrast between the white and black is really wonderful.

    By the way, I have had this thing with deadlines all my life.😛

    • You are somewhere close….all these paintings were for the same theme…
      In the second one you did a fab job…most of the people are not able to figure out anything…you pointed out almost everything except petals…
      Second one is based on the first one…

      I think I should edit the post to add something more about the paintings🙂

Leave a Reply

