My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes.

TBG tagged me here wayyyy back…

If you are a woman,

Have you ever wanted something that is considered ‘manly’ ? Like a basketball, a cell phone, a dog, a camera or a new laptop? A new car or motor bike? Ever wanted to be a pilot? A doctor or not a nurse? And the manliest want of them all – The remote!

As a kid did you enjoy playing with a bat and a ball?

There was a time when books were considered ‘manly’, women authors had to pretend to be men – would you say books are still rather manly – women should want to embroider and crochet?

 

If you are a man,

Have you ever wanted something that only women are supposed to want – like bags, shoes, clothes, creams, perfumes, babies, flowers? A peaceful home and a happy family? Have you ever been afraid of the dark or of insects?

As a kid did you ever want to play ‘teacher-teacher’, cooking or did you like playing with a doll? Have you ever enjoyed cooking? Bought something in pink? Loved chocolates?

 

So here’s the tag – Please list at least ten things you have ever wanted or done which your gender is not supposed to.

The tag is called ‘My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes’. And you must tag twelve blogging friends  or else you will be cursed to wear blue clothes pants if you are a woman and pink shirts if you are a man – for next twelve years 

  1. I HATE Chocolates
  2. I Love playing Video games, its one of the best stress busters for me😀
  3. Usually, I like guys who are younger to me
  4. I had a Dog and I loved him immensely, I was the one who would take him for a walk along with me (usually evenings & sometimes night)
  5. I was a bully in my school, fought* with boys numerous times (*fights not limited to words only)
  6. I somehow can’t talk like “aaungi, jaungi etc.’ with Mom & Dad….whenever I talk to them I talk like a guy…’mai late ho jaunga, mai khana bana lunga’ types…and As per my Mom & my bhai…I walk like a guy…. (something like Meg Ryan may be)
  7. I love hooting in the hall while watching a movie… and I feel sad for not watching Wanted on a theatre
  8. I don’t spend much time in front of a mirror, inspecting each strand of hair.
  9. If I had to live alone, m sure my room would look like that of a Bachelor….cluttered with everything around, whether I need it or not. It doesn’t mean that I don’t like to be organized but I would be more than happy if someone would do it for me while I lie on the couch watching soccer😛
  10. I love speed. Though I don’t drive,,,left it way back. But I have drove a car and a scooty and speed was the common factor in both the cases.
  11. I love wearing jeans with a khadi ka kurta…I have often been referred as Munnabhai😛
  12. I can’t remember if I have ever “blushed” :P 

And I tag everyone who happen to read this post and haven’t yet done this tag. Yes…You, my dear reader; are tagged…and you better complete this one or else you will be cursed to wear blue pants if you are a woman and pink shirts if you are a man – for next twelve years😛

Edit: All sinners are welcome to join this group on Facebook (started by IHM) – http://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/invitation-to-sinners-to-join-group-on-facebook/

8 thoughts on “My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes.

    • hehehe…but now my parents have started asking me to change this habit…they wonder if I would continue to talk like this to my in-laws too…this is what we call foresightedness!!!😛

      Once I accidently hit someone and I dint drive after that…

    • for #5 – LOL…!!
      for #6 – I talk like this to few very good friends too…rarely though
      for #9 – i knew itt😛
      for #12 – off lately…ahem has made changes to this behaviour of mine…but otherwise it prevails…

Leave a Reply

