This “Winter of 2011-12” will definitely make you forget about the “Summer of 69”

 

….on the contrary, it’s the electrifying effect of these songs which still makes you feel warm, enough to survive any winter.

So while I was trying to curse the winters I came up with my former statement which is the title of this post and my recent FB status…and when I heard the song it made me think over to change it to latter.

All this while since my childhood, I have been listening to the original number. But when I heard the live version…it was amazing. With the soothing effect of slow guitar and vocals, it has the electric effect of drums in between. I like such combinations… awesomest of all.

Now, when I was listening to this song…I ofcourse went back to those days when I used to listen to it as an Anthem. And then “those were the best days of my life” further pushed me towards thinking about those in my life. And immediately there was this one instance which came up in my mind.

When we were in school, seasons were not this seasonal….they (seasons) were not this impatient to come and go.  They always behaved like those good friends we meet after ages and then take time out to sit down and chat…we enjoy these sessions and so we enjoyed those seasons too.

It was summers turning towards monsoons. I woke up at 8 am… without anybody’s help (Gosh!! I was better as a kid). Though it was morning, I thought that I had taken an afternoon nap and that it was evening I had woken up to. I looked at the clock which said 8… I wondered how I had slept the whole evening. When I went to the balcony where my parents were chit-chatting I noticed some light…it wasn’t that dark to be 8 in the night. “But it can’t be 8 in the morning…it’s too much of a pleasant shade of light”, I thought to myself. Then I heard my parents saying “Good Morning” chasing away all the doubts, I promptly replied with the same and climbed up the chair to look what my parents were talking about. There he was…my brother, playing with other kids trying to make mud castles. Slight showers a day before must have given them the brilliant idea. All I knew next was to join the gang. We missed Ducktales and Talespin that day, but finally we were able to accomplish the task of making a stable mud castle which was intact till the evening when heavy showers washed it off.

 

Yeah….Those Were The BEST Days Of My Life !!!!!!!!

 

8 thoughts on “This “Winter of 2011-12” will definitely make you forget about the “Summer of 69”

    • Hey thanks Appu, great to see you here. Words of appreciation from oldies (not by age but tenure in life) is always heartfelt. I am doing fine and I hope the same for you.🙂

  1. 🙂

    “When we were in school, seasons were not this seasonal….they (seasons) were not this impatient to come and go. They always behaved like those good friends we meet after ages” – So correct. Seasons were really seasons when we were kids. I guess they are still pretty much the same. But we have changed the way we look at them.

    So, you were writing this while we were chatting ??😀

Leave a Reply

