Lost

I once lived
In that crackle as a baby
I was once excited
With that emerging first tooth may be
I was at peace
When all they want was to make me smile
I was once loved
When I was the priority

Time change everything around
They were not them
Neither I was me

I smiled
When they did
I got excited
When I achieved something they wished
I was at peace
When they were
It wasn’t about being loved anymore
It was just about loving them over and over

Time change everything around
They were not them
Neither I was me

I lived
For their dream I believe
I felt excited
To gift them the life they sacrificed for me
I experienced peace
When I saw them smiling cos of me
I felt loved
With all the care they threw upon me

Time change everything around
They were not them
But I was me

I forgot to live
As I was busy living by their rules
I no more felt excited
Cos I lost myself chasing their dream
I was not at peace
As for them there were many better than me
I stopped loving
Not them but myself

Happens when there are a lot of expectations from a child at every stage of life. Today we see a lot of children being burdened with unnecessary rules and regulations put up by their parents. For once, can’t we let the child take steps on their own and learn with their mistakes? Moreover, why do we assume that they are going to make mistakes? For once, why can’t parents trust their own upbringing and let the child walk his/her own path?

2 thoughts on “Lost

Leave a Reply

